Page 1 of 4

Columbus Geocaching App and OCUS

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 9:07 am
by sorer
Hello,

yesterday i publish new version of columbus - geocaching application for android.

New version support searching for opencaching.us and two other opencaching sites.

If you like it, you can join to facebook group

Re: Columbus

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 9:14 am
by DudleyGrunt
Cool. Does it use a live feed for OpenCaching US or do you need to load the caches.

Which OpenCaching sites does it access? You may want to specify on the its Android Marketplace page that it is OpenCaching US (and which others), but not (I take it) Garmin's OpenCaching.com.

Re: Columbus

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 9:26 am
by sorer
It access opencaching.us, opencaching.de, opencaching.org.uk
Later I'll add opencaching.cz and maybe garmin opencaching.com.

It works exactly like searching for geocaching.com caches. You can search by name, nearest or waypoint code. Than you can download caches to your phone, and go geocaching :)

Small video with previous version (without opencaching), how it works is on my site
http://columbus.spacebreak.sk/Home

Re: Columbus

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:30 am
by DudleyGrunt
sorer wrote:It access opencaching.us, opencaching.de, opencaching.org.uk
Later I'll add opencaching.cz and maybe garmin opencaching.com.

It works exactly like searching for geocaching.com caches. You can search by name, nearest or waypoint code. Than you can download caches to your phone, and go geocaching :)

Small video with previous version (without opencaching), how it works is on my site
http://columbus.spacebreak.sk/Home


Thanks. I wouldn't worry about OC.com. :roll:

Re: Columbus

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:34 am
by sorer
I overlooked "Geocaching with Android" forum, so forum admin can move this topic to that forum. ;)

Re: Columbus

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 3:59 pm
by RVRoadTrip
I just downloaded and tested the app and it worked great! It would be nice if you could set it to show nearest by default. When I launch it, it says no caches found, but if I search and select opencaching.us (even if it was previously selected) then it will show nearby OCUS caches. I was able to view all aspects of the cache including attributes, the hint, etc and selecting "web" launched the cache page allowing me to log it.

Overall, a great job and we certainly appreciate it! We will promote the app on our various sites.

Opencaching.com is not part of the opencaching network. They are primarily a cross-listing site for Geocaching.com. Since your app already includes Geocaching.com, you already have the vast majority of what is available at opencaching.com.

Re: Columbus Geocaching App and OCUS

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2011 2:00 pm
by NativTxn
I tried logging a cache with Columbus the other day and it kept wanting to go to geocaching.com. I'll have to check why it didn't give me the option to go to the web. We SERIOUSLY need our own app that works directly with this site.

Re: Columbus Geocaching App and OCUS

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2011 8:55 pm
by RVRoadTrip
Notify the app author and he can fix the issue.

Re: Columbus Geocaching App and OCUS

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 8:55 am
by DudleyGrunt
I finally used it a bit over the last week. Definitely nice to have.

Re: Columbus Geocaching App and OCUS

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2011 1:53 pm
by DudleyGrunt
I just used Columbus to find a new BITcache near home. In the process I figured something out that I saw someone mention, somewhere, recently.
Someone had commented that Columbus wasn't showing a newly published OCUS cache. When I pulled up the app, Sunday, it was only showing me some caches in NJ that I searched for when I was up there, last month. At first, I thought I was having the same problem. Then I realized that I actually needed to do a new search. When I did, it showed me everything I'd expect to see.

The only thing I'd like to be able to do is to filter out found / owned / ignored caches - even if I had to initially "ignore" them within the app.