Map not showing caches?

For reporting issues with the OCNA site.

Map not showing caches?

Postby rob3k » Thu Sep 23, 2010 2:51 pm

Is it just me or is the map not showing any caches?

For example, I don't see my cache on the map when I click the link on the page:

http://opencaching.us/cachemap3.php?lat ... putZoom=14
rob3k
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 7:39 am

Re: Map not showing caches?

Postby DudleyGrunt » Thu Sep 23, 2010 3:00 pm

There is a thread somewhere on this, but I couldn't find it just now under Bug Reports or Opencaching US Website areas.

Try deleting your temp. internet files / cookies and recheck. That generally works, but then I need to do it the next time around. I'm hoping this is something RVRoadTrip will be able to resolve since you shouldn't need to do this.
Dave, OCNA Site Admin
For the smiles, not the smilies.
Image Image
GeoCachers 4 Christ - Military Association of GeoCachers - Maryland Geocaching Society
Look for "Geocachers Unlimited" on Facebook and Google+.
User avatar
DudleyGrunt
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2001
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 1:27 pm
Location: Jessup, MD

Re: Map not showing caches?

Postby glorkar » Thu Sep 23, 2010 4:01 pm

Did you use the "Seek a Geocache" page? If so, the very first option, "Exclude Geocaches," automatically checks to not show caches that you own. Simply uncheck the box and search again. It should work.
Opencaching.us Global Moderator
"In a world gone mad, only a lunatic is truly insane"

Image
User avatar
glorkar
 
Posts: 422
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 10:34 am
Location: Oshkosh/Berlin, Wisconsin

Re: Map not showing caches?

Postby RVRoadTrip » Thu Sep 23, 2010 5:35 pm

Yep, if you are looking to see your own, you have to tell it not to exclude those. if any caches match anything on the exclusion list, you won't see them.
User avatar
RVRoadTrip
Site Admin
 
Posts: 533
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 3:04 pm

Re: Map not showing caches?

Postby DudleyGrunt » Thu Sep 23, 2010 6:49 pm

rob3k wrote:For example, I don't see my cache on the map when I click the link on the page


Somehow, I neglected to read you second question. However, if you're still having problems after checking the exclusions, then you may need to resort to the cookies fix.
Dave, OCNA Site Admin
For the smiles, not the smilies.
Image Image
GeoCachers 4 Christ - Military Association of GeoCachers - Maryland Geocaching Society
Look for "Geocachers Unlimited" on Facebook and Google+.
User avatar
DudleyGrunt
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2001
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 1:27 pm
Location: Jessup, MD

Re: Map not showing caches?

Postby rob3k » Fri Sep 24, 2010 7:01 am

I wasn't seeing any caches, just used my own as an example. Guess that wasn't the best example. :lol:

Still don't see them in Firefox, but I think Dudley has the solution. I can see them in Chrome and don't want to dump all my cookies/temp files in Firefox, so I'll just use Chrome to check the OU map for now. Thanks!
rob3k
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 7:39 am

Re: Map not showing caches?

Postby DudleyGrunt » Fri Sep 24, 2010 12:55 pm

It's a bit of a pain, but when I want to fix this issue, I just go in an delete the OCUS cookies. Hopefully, this won't be a long term problem.
Dave, OCNA Site Admin
For the smiles, not the smilies.
Image Image
GeoCachers 4 Christ - Military Association of GeoCachers - Maryland Geocaching Society
Look for "Geocachers Unlimited" on Facebook and Google+.
User avatar
DudleyGrunt
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2001
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 1:27 pm
Location: Jessup, MD

Re: Map not showing caches?

Postby RVRoadTrip » Fri Sep 24, 2010 2:28 pm

The same issue that was affecting notifications seems to be causing this. We tracked down the issue and corrected it so it should not happen again. You "may" need to delete your opencaching.us cookies one final time as the cookies were being written with an offset date/time format. MySQL seems to want everything to be written in GMT instead of the server's local time (CST). So don't be alarmed when you see times written as GMT, just pretend you are on vacation in Greenwich, England. :)
User avatar
RVRoadTrip
Site Admin
 
Posts: 533
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 3:04 pm

Re: Map not showing caches?

Postby DudleyGrunt » Fri Sep 24, 2010 9:14 pm

Thanks for your efforts! I did have to delete the a last time.
Dave, OCNA Site Admin
For the smiles, not the smilies.
Image Image
GeoCachers 4 Christ - Military Association of GeoCachers - Maryland Geocaching Society
Look for "Geocachers Unlimited" on Facebook and Google+.
User avatar
DudleyGrunt
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2001
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 1:27 pm
Location: Jessup, MD

Re: Map not showing caches?

Postby history-cacher » Sat Oct 09, 2010 10:40 am

I have the same problem. But if I can't see them that is fine but can everybody else? Can somebody do a search on 32920 and see if my three show up?

-RKO
User avatar
history-cacher
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2010 1:04 pm

Next

Return to Bug Reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron