Hiding Geocaches - Regarding National Park Areas

New to geocaching? Get help here!
eaturbyfill
Hiding Geocaches - Regarding National Park Areas

Post by eaturbyfill » Sat Mar 15, 2014 11:07 pm

I am not quite new to finding geocaches, but I am new to hiding them. I am having issues determining where I can and cannot hide caches. I have read through all of the guidelines, but I am still having a problem.

I live in east Tennessee, and I can't tell what areas are part of the Cherokee National Forest and which are not. On Google maps, for example, it show the Cherokee forest as being one contiguous giant spot on the map. On the map I have downloaded to my tablet for caching, it only shows some areas as being green. It doesn't make sense for the entire area to be blanketed as national forest because there are many residential and business areas. Is there any way to tell for sure whether or not an area is in the forest? The maps differ and I am not sure which is accurate and the reviewers follow to determine these things.

Mr.Yuck
Site Admin

Re: Hiding Geocaches - Regarding National Park Areas

Post by Mr.Yuck » Sun Mar 16, 2014 9:16 am

Hi, and thanks for posting. I'm an admin for the website, and there are two others. We have a file that calculates whether or not the cache is in a National Park, and it generates the National Park Graphic on the cache page, as well as a link to the park. This is totally automated, because we did in fact last summer have a guy place a cache in an Indiana State Park adjacent to a National Lakeshore (who knew there was such a thing), and we agreed with him, and the only way I could get rid of it was to delete a table entry in the database! Speaking of the database, there are exactly 30 cache listings in the "caches_npa" table, meaning they have been calculated to be in an NPA such as this virtual by our website founder.