Preprepared pages?

Bound ID Tag Caching
Post Reply
GOF
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 8:08 pm

Preprepared pages?

Post by GOF » Fri May 18, 2012 5:58 am

I was thinking about creating a few generic BIT cache pages and printing the tags before finding the locations. This way I could carry them with me on my travels and hide them if I come across a place that I think they would be appropriate. Is this possible? Can you think of any problems with the idea?

User avatar
DudleyGrunt
Site Admin
Posts: 2008
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 1:27 pm
Location: Jessup, MD
Contact:

Re: Preprepared pages?

Post by DudleyGrunt » Fri May 18, 2012 8:58 am

Just give them a name of "DRAFT - xxxxxxxxx". In this case, since you don't know where they're going, maybe "DRAFT BIT1", "DRAFT BIT2". Then, when you're ready to have them reviewed, just rename them and remove the "DRAFT".

This is also good advice for any cache you are working on, but don't want reviewed, yet. Someday, maybe we'll be able to have an option for drafts to not be submitted for review, but for now, this will work.
Dave, OCNA Team Member
For the smiles, not the smilies.
Maryland Geocaching Society

Image Image

GOF
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 8:08 pm

Re: Preprepared pages?

Post by GOF » Fri May 18, 2012 12:03 pm

Thanks! I figured something like that would work. I just wanted to make sure before I just went ahead and did it.

GOF
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 8:08 pm

Re: Preprepared pages?

Post by GOF » Tue May 22, 2012 9:08 pm

OK folks. Lesson learned here. Make sure your database of caches is complete when you attempt this. I missed a couple and ended up encroaching on a couple of Yuck's caches.

User avatar
TermiteHunter
Site Admin
Posts: 1003
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 7:12 pm

Re: Preprepared pages?

Post by TermiteHunter » Wed Jun 06, 2012 12:02 pm

I just submitted 5 new BITs as under construction so that I will have the BIT to carry to the site when I get the coords.
Problem is now I cannot print the BIT
When clicking the print link I get another page with "YOU HAVE REACHED THIS PAGE IN ERROR"
Same for either print option.

2 separate Win 7 computers using IE

User avatar
DudleyGrunt
Site Admin
Posts: 2008
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 1:27 pm
Location: Jessup, MD
Contact:

Re: Preprepared pages?

Post by DudleyGrunt » Wed Jun 06, 2012 1:39 pm

Getting the same thing. I just printed a couple BITcaches, yesterday.

I'll check on it.
Dave, OCNA Team Member
For the smiles, not the smilies.
Maryland Geocaching Society

Image Image

User avatar
DudleyGrunt
Site Admin
Posts: 2008
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 1:27 pm
Location: Jessup, MD
Contact:

Re: Preprepared pages?

Post by DudleyGrunt » Wed Jun 06, 2012 1:42 pm

You need to have the Log Password filled in for the BIT to print.
Dave, OCNA Team Member
For the smiles, not the smilies.
Maryland Geocaching Society

Image Image

User avatar
TermiteHunter
Site Admin
Posts: 1003
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 7:12 pm

Re: Preprepared pages?

Post by TermiteHunter » Thu Jun 07, 2012 5:31 pm

Well duh.... I knew that.
Thanks

Post Reply